To visit the Denison Homestead in historic Mystic, Connecticut, is to step back into colonial New England.
The Denison Homestead contains 160 acres of ledges, meadows and woodlands winding through the picturesque land of Mystic and Stonington, CT.
In 1654, Capt. George Denison, one of the first settlers of Mystic, CT was granted this land by Governor John Winthrop Jr. for service to the early militia. Much of his original acreage has been preserved, thanks to the stewardship of The Denison Society, and has been enjoyed by the community and Denison descendents since 1946.For almost 90 years, its open space and many trails have been open to the public.
Pequotsepos Manor: The 1717 house museum that is the centerpiece of the Homestead restored in 1946 by J. Frederick Kelly, the most noted New England Colonial Revival architect. Each room represents a different period of history in America and tells the story of the Denison Family that lived there at that time. In 1979, the Denison Homestead was placed on the National Register of Historic Places.